A comprehensive listing of web sites that deal with Native law and legal issues.
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2014
- Oklahoma State University Digital Library
Contains online versions of Kappler's Indian Affairs: Law & Treaties and all of the Indian Claims Commission decisions.
- Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project (Univ. of Oklahoma)
This Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents. Project Coordinators are David Selden (NILL) and Marilyn Nicely (OU).
- Tribal Law and Government Center (Univ. of Kansas)
Effectively representing Indian nations and tribes requires an understanding of the laws, history and policies that affect them. For more than 200 years, the United States has pursued conflicting policies for dealing with the indigenous peoples located within its borders. As a result, there exists an extremely complicated body of federal, state and tribal law that affects every aspect of indigenous life.
- Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development
The Harvard Project aims to understand and foster the conditions under which sustained, self-determined social and economic development is achieved among American Indian nations through applied research and service.
- The Institute for Tribal Government (Hatfield School of Government, Portland State University)
The Institute was founded by its director, former Congresswoman Elizabeth Furse. A Tribal Policy Board consisting of elected tribal chairpersons, directors of tribal governmental and policy organizations, and representatives of institutions of higher education provide policy guidance to the Institute. The Tribal Leadership Forum, a 501c3 non-profit corporation, was also created to support the work of the Institute in its charitable, literary, and educational capacities.
- The Avalon Project @ Yale Law School, Relations Between the United States and Native Americans
Represents an important collection of treaties and other historical documents that pertain to the U.S. government’s relationship with Native American Nations.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection (Univ. of Washington)
The digital databases includes over 2,300 original photographs as well as over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 to 1908 and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855. Secondary sources include 89 articles from the Pacific Northwest Quarterly and 23 University of Washington publications in Anthropology.
- Center for Indigenous Law, Governance & Citizenship (Syracuse Univ.)
The Center for Indigenous Law, Governance & Citizenship is a research based law and policy institute focused on Indigenous nations, their development and their interaction with the U.S. and Canadian governments.
- First Nations Tribal Collection of the Southern Oregon Digital Archives (Southern Oregon Univ.)
The First Nations Tribal Collection consists of documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion. We have begun to collect and mount materials about many tribes in southwestern Oregon and northern California. Some of these nations include the Coos, Hupa, Karuk, Klamath, Modoc, Takelma, Shasta, Siuslaw, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua, Yahooskin, and Yurok nations.
- American Indian Studies Research Institute (Indiana Univ.)
Indiana University's American Indian Studies Research Institute brings together faculty, full-time staff, graduate students, undergraduate students, and contract personnel from around the Bloomington campus to work together on research projects relating to American Indians. AISRI also works collaboratively with numerous scholars at other institutions around the world, as well as with tribal schools and colleges.
- University of Tulsa Native American Law Center
Aho, Si Yo, and Welcome! to the website of the Native American Law Center at the University of Tulsa College of Law. Our program enjoys wide recognition as one of the country's finest educations in Indian law. TU was the first law school in the United States to offer a certificate in Native American Law, and our program has grown from there. NALC encompasses talented, nationally recognized faculty, an active student body, and a variety of courses in Indian law.
- Professor G. William Rice's Home Page
Professor Rice instructs students at the TU College of Law in the following areas: Constitutional Law, Native American & Indigenous Rights, Jurisprudence, and Tribal Government. He is also the Director of the LL.M. in American Indian & Indigenous Law. This site includes an excellent listing of Supreme Court cases that deal with Indian Law, along with an excellent list of treaties made between the Federal Government and Tribal Nations.
- University of Tulsa Special Collections
Here is the A-Z Guide to the holdings in TU's Special Collections. Special Collections contain the papers of Alice Robertson and the Worcester Family, along with original Osage Allottment Cards and many resources related to the Five Tribes [Seminole, Choctaw, Cherokee, Muscogee (Creek) and Chickasaw].
- Tribal Court Clearinghouse
The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is a comprehensive website established in June 1997 to serve as a resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country.
- Indian Law Resource Center
The Indian Law Resource Center provides legal assistance to indigenous peoples of the Americas to combat racism and oppression, to protect their lands and environment, to protect their cultures and ways of life, to achieve sustainable economic development and genuine self-government, and to realize their other human rights.
- Arizona State University's Indian Law Portal
The purpose of the portal is to provide subject materials that support the curriculum of the ASU College of Law Indian Legal Program. It is hoped that the portal will also benefit the Indian legal community by providing links to comprehensive, authoritative, free materials for their use. ASU subscription materials are available for use in the library. ASU Librarians have selected the best resources for you from the thousands available.
- Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law
The Center focuses on education, research, community outreach, and the preservation of invaluable historical, legal, and traditional and customary materials. It also offers new courses and encourages and supports Native Hawaiian law students as they pursue legal careers and leadership roles.
- National Indian Law Library (Native American Rights Fund)
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) is a public law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. Our mission is to develop and make accessible a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and other information relating to Native Americans. NILL places special emphasis on fulfilling the information needs of Indian law advocates and others working on behalf of Native Americans.
- Turtle Talk
Turtle Talk is the blog for the Indigenous Law and Policy Center at Michigan State University College of Law. We post news items related to Indian law and politics, with a special emphasis on topics related to Indian tribes in Michigan and the Great Lakes region. We also post announcements about our activities and about the activities of the MSU Native American Law Students Association.
- Tsalagi Think Tank
This blog is composed by Dean Stacy Leeds (University of Arkansas School of Law) and the focus is Cherokee law, although there are posts that inform all of Indian Country.