"So many of our dreams at first seem impossible, then they seem improbable, and then when we summon the will, they soon become inevitable."- Christopher Reeve
Selecting a Bar Prep Course
It is very important to select the bar prep course that works best for you based on study methods and cost. We all have strengths and weaknesses and learn in different ways. Consider the following questions before reviewing and selecting a bar prep course:
What type of learner are you?
Do you need a lot of structure in your study program?
Do you prefer to work independently and direct yourself?
Do you need a lot of flexibility in your study program and schedule?
Can you learn and retain information provided by video and online learning?
Do you learn better with more human interaction and feedback?
Do you need help holding yourself accountable to the study schedule/program?
Would you like someone to call and discuss questions and answers with?
Did you struggle with writing essays or exam answers in law school?
Should you hire a private tutor as part of your bar prep?
How much time do you have to study before the exam?
Is this your first-time taking a bar exam?
Below are some of the more well known and used Commercial Bar Prep Courses.
Kaplan - The Kaplan bar prep course begins with an online diagnostic test to help assess your strengths and weaknesses. From there, you will be able to create a custom study plan that fits your needs.
Themis - This bar exam course has on-demand video lectures ranging from 15-20 minutes for easier memory retention. Themis also provides a flexible daily task schedule and directed study to keep you on track. View a short Themis Bar Review Demo here.
BARBRI - This course provides multiple price options for bar prep including a self-pass option, guided pass option, ultimate pass option, and 6- 10 month extended online prep course. Every single option provides a personal study plan and 2,500 + multiple-choice questions.
AdaptiBar - The AdaptiBar course uses patented, adaptive technology, licensed MBE questions, and diagnostic tools to help students prepare for the exam. This course has a database of real MBE questions from past bar exams and detailed explanations for each answer.
Quimbee - Starting at $1,199, Quimbee Bar Review features real, licensed questions from past bar exams; unlimited essay grading by real attorneys; and beautifully designed video lessons. All organized in an easy-to-follow study calendar.
BarMax - As of 2023 BarMax is considered the #1 bar course according to ratings and reviews. It contains more than 1,950 real MBE questions at a starting price of $1,895. Books are provided in digital and print format. There are message boards, email, phone and office hours for student support.
Studicata - This is a less well-known bar prep course that provides a free starter material and, if you are interested, a standard comprehensive course for $1995. Some of the free videos from this course can be found on YouTube to preview. See here.
JD Advising - This UBE bar prep course contains tailored UBE outlines, 1,499 real MBE questions, bar exam instructors and feedback from attorney graders. JD Advising also provides private tutoring, if needed or desired.
You can find three different detailed assessments of the bar exam prep courses at the following sites and a thorough video review below:
While pricier, it may be important to consider private tutoring sessions if you are taking the bar exam again or if you believe you need extra help. Here are a few bar prep courses that provide private tutoring options for the UBE.
A Christian Bar Prep course that provides private tutoring by attorneys and law school graduates. Agape also creates a personalized study plan based on the students' learning needs. Tutoring and courses available for the UBE and the State of Florida.
Whether going through bar prep the first time, repeating the exam or perhaps taking a second bar in a different state, private BARBRI bar prep tutoring is available to all graduating law school students enrolled in BARBRI Bar Review in all states. Time spent 1:1 with a dedicated BARBRI bar exam tutor leads to the best results. Together, you’ll more deeply diagnose your bar study skills and habits, identify your strong suits and, most importantly, work to overcome areas in need of improvement.
BarMax also provides a private tutoring option. Students will be matched with tutors and will be evaluated on an individual basis in order to target specific needs and areas to focus on. Tutoring sessions occur over phone or via video conferencing.
We believe in an efficient and personalized approach to bar exam preparation. In addition to providing substantive law assistance, we also provide you with study techniques and habits to maximize your chances of passing the bar exam. And, we provide you with outlines that are precisely tailored to what is tested on the bar exam. We have helped hundreds of students pass the bar exam using our bar exam private tutoring program — both first-time takers and repeat bar exam takers.
